Progress

While my California family and friends are suffering through the worst drought since the 1970s, I’m over here in Minnesota wishing I could send some snow and cooler temperatures their way ā€” it would be beneficial for both parties. The Twin Cities has had a fair amount of snow, but it’s the cold that has caused schools to close 3 times (probably a 4 as of tomorrow) already this month. When the air temp hits -20, schools close… the more you know. I’ve got so used to those temps, that I’m not as concerned as I was during the height of the polar vortex about bussing to and from work. I just need to move quickly and I probably won’t die.

Thankfully though, there have been some 20 and 30 degree days peppered in throughout the month. These few and far between “warm” days have reminded me that I need to get out and play while I can. Last week, I went to the Hockey City Classic, which is 40,000 people standing in the U of Minnesota football stadium attempting to watch a hockey game occurring in the middle of the field. This week, I went snow tubing with my roommate and her 13-year-old brother and cousin. Now that was a blast. So much speed. So much laughter.

That surface was SLICK, which means I got to go my favorite speed: fast.

That surface was SLICK, which means I got to go my favorite speed: fast.

The Minnesota Winter Bucket List is really making progress!

Image

I may need to stay inside some days to avoid frostbite and hypothermia, but on the relatively warm days, it’s all about getting out and playing while we can!

Leave a Reply

