Zippin’ Around Town

If you had a car to drive for the first time in over a year, and access to free gas, what would you do?

Me, I went to Costco.

A few weeks ago, I signed up for ZipCar. I’ve known about the program since college, and I don’t know why I didn’t sign up for it sooner, but I guess I finally decided I was allowed to. Yesterday, I checked out a car for the first time, and promptly headed to the suburbs for some warehouse bulk grocery shopping.

Image

This is where my ZipCar lives.

I picked up my ZipCar, a Ford Escape, at a parking garage across the street from me (seriously, how convenient is that?), and started getting set up. With ZipCar, you have a ZipCard, which you use to unlock the car, since the keys are attached to the car and can’t leave the vehicle. Once in, I got the mirrors adjusted and tuned in the radio, and hit the road.

Image

90s on 9 for the road.

My trip to Costco was actually a bit anticlimactic, since I forgot I’m only one person and don’t need to buy food in bulk, but I was able to get my new winter boots which was exciting.

The best part of the Costco trip? When I was sitting in the parking lot and discovered this:

Image

Sun roof for the win. Party on.

I did make it to a regular grocery store and stock up on food of reasonably packaged proportions, which was phenomenal.

Image

And I shall cook for days!

A few weeks ago, I wrote about how I was living an urban lifestyle here in Minneapolis. Well, in my opinion, the biggest drawback of this urban lifestyle is the lack of vehicle and being able to drive wherever I would like. I could buy a car, but at this point, it seems like it would be a real bummer to have to pay for gas and insurance, since I’ve gotten used to not having to pay for that.

Luckily, ZipCar takes care of all that. Yep. A car when you want it AND they pay for gas. It sounds too good to be true, right? For $9.50 an hour (and $50 a year, plus a $25 application fee), you have wheels when you want them. And they have locations literally all over the world.  I’m not saying I won’t ever be a car-owner again, because I will be, but ZipCar is pretty neat.

Leave a Reply

