Back to Reality

During the past nine days, I have ate my way through my home state of California, visiting friends, spending quality time with family and seeing some of my favorite California sites (rice patties and oak trees top the list). It was hard to get on the plane this morning – I’m going to miss my parents, brother, grandparents and all my friends, not to mention authentic carnitas.

I can’t seem to grasp how I will handle not seeing my family until Thanksgiving. That’s 5 months. I went the same amount of time last year when I arrived a year ago this week, but it still seems impossible. Luckily, one of my best friends from college will be interning a mere four hours from the Twin Cities this summer, two of my college roommates will be visiting in September, and my mom has been talking about trying to find cheap flights in October. While it seems like forever until I will be reunited by my family in California, I just have to remember everything that happened over the past year, and keep plowing forward. But we’ll talk about that more on Thursday. 🙂

Leave a Reply

