Pinterest Fail: Yogurt Covered Blueberries

Pinterest. For many young ladies, like myself, it’s a combination drug and time-suck. You make the mistake of visiting the site for “a quick peak,” and end up looking up from your computer, hours later, only to realize it’s dark out and you haven’t accomplished anything that day, let alone come close to achieving any of the thousand pins you re-pinned that day.

To make up for this unproductive time, many Pinterest users blog about their successes with Pinterest, hoping to become a social influencer, or be pinned themselves. Well, guess what? About 50 percent of the crap I attempt on Pinterest doesn’t work. Sure, I’ve gotten great fashion advice, skin care regimens and pasta recipes, but sometimes, it’s just a failure.

Case in point: Greek Yogurt Covered Blueberries. I thought this had so much promise. I mean, Greek yogurt + blueberries = superfood that will turn one into the picture of health. Well, I don’t know because I had all of five test berries before I realized I had wasted my time.  I won’t post the original link, because I’m sure the author loved their concoction and it worked great for them. But it didn’t work for me.

Here is why it didn’t work:

  1. Plain Greek Yogurt probably wasn’t the best choice. IF, and that’s a big if, I were to make this again, I would use a honey or vanilla flavored Greek yogurt, just to avoid the weird tanginess.

    Image

    It looked so promising.

  2. To get the yogurt to become a coat on the blueberry, you have to freeze the little superfood nuggets. Turns out, frozen blueberries turn into little chunks of ice, covered in frozen yogurt. It’s like eating ice, and I hate chewing ice.

    Image

    I truly wish this had worked!

  3. When I put them in fridge to become a little less ice-like, they became soupy, blueberry yogurt-y messes. I was not pleased.

Moral of the story – sometimes you have Pinterest success, sometimes you have Pinterest Fails.

2 thoughts on “Pinterest Fail: Yogurt Covered Blueberries

  1. Pingback: Cilantro Lime Chicken | Getting Carried Away

Leave a Reply

