Penne with Zucchini and a Lemon Basil Yogurt Sauce

Like many other people my age, I have a fascinating with cooking. For millennials, cooking isn’t just a mode to provide sustenance; it’s a form of entertainment. Seeing what delicious (or not so delicious) concoctions we can come  up with, and wowing our friends with our amateur skills is exciting. Last night, I wanted a little excitement, even though I was just cooking for me. I also had a zucchini that needed to be used and some left over penne pasta. I’d like to think inspiration struck at this point, but I just happened to remember a recipe from Pinterest I tested out a few months ago.  I will give myself I little credit though – instead of looking up the original recipe, I just took what I had and made it happen. Some Tyson pre-cooked chicken, chopped zucchini, onion,garlic and leftover pasta, plus a little Fage 0% greek yogurt mixed with lemon juice and dried basil resulted in a tasty dinner for one. Not gourmet (pre-cooked chicken, I know), but it was delicious and fresh.

Want to make my version for yourself? Check it out!

Ingredients 

Pasta, cooked
Chicken, cooked
Olive Oil for sautéing
Onion, chopped
Garlic, minced
Zucchini, sliced
1/4 Fage 0% Greek Yogurt
Juice from 1/4 lemon
1 tbsp dried basil
salt and pepper to test

Saute onion, garlic and zucchini in olive oil with salt and pepper until soft. Add pasta and chicken to warm.

photo copy 2

Saute it up!

While pasta and chicken are warming, mix yogurt, lemon juice and basil in a small bowl.

photo

Looks funky, I know!

Place zucchini and pasta mixture in a bowl, add a dolop of yogurt sauce and mix thoroughly. The, enjoy!

photo copy

Not the most glamorous looking meal, but it’s delicious, I swear!

Yep, it was that simple. Since the chicken just needed to be warmed up and the pasta was already cooked, this took me about 15 minutes. Easy to prepare, and filling!

Leave a Reply

