Minnesota: Day 21

It’s amazing how time flies. I have been in Minnesota for 21 days and I finally feel like I have settled into my situation. I’m staying very busy at work, have explored a little further into Minneapolis and am figuring out how to live on my own. I’ve even watched the entire series of Arrested Development and started Mad Men. Yep, I’d say I’m settling in pretty well.

What’s been the hardest adjustment for me so far, you ask? That would have to be trying to figure out this crazy-bannanasandwhich-bipolar-cantmakeupitsmind thing they call weather out here. Luckily, we have received a reprieve these past few days. However, last week was hellish. It manages to be 100 degrees and humid, yet not that manageable tropical humidity. Just plain, “100 degrees and being coated with 100 degree water” humidity. It was so bad that everyone (including my boss), knowing my naiveté when it comes to true weather, routinely checked in with me to make sure I wasn’t melting away or passing out from the heat. In all honesty, no one should be able to sweat as much as I did walking to the bus stop at 7:30 am  one day last week.

Surprisingly, I have yet to visit a lake in the 21 days I have been in the Land of 10,000 Lakes. Does that seem wrong to anyone else?

2 thoughts on “Minnesota: Day 21

  1. Yes, that seems wrong! Make friends with people who have boats or access to boats. I had assumed that everyone in Minnesota fell into that category, but maybe I’m wrong. Anyways, I’m glad you are getting settled. The weather sounds lovely there.

  2. One word: Antiperspirant. I know how you feel regarding the high heat AND high, no, make that insanely high humidity. Seems like you are melting after taking 2 steps outside. Well, hope the work is interesting and you are learning from other people’s mistakes. Really sounds like a lot of fun. Are you enjoying the food, nightlife, culture there? Take care.

Leave a Reply

