Humidity and The White Stripes

I thought I had experienced humidity before, but I was wrong. Boy, was I so incredibly wrong.

Today, it was humid. It was hot. It was hot and humid. I’m afraid to say I now know what everyone was talking about, for fear I’ll piss off the weather gods and it will get even worse. Yesterday, everyone told me today was going to be bad, and I believed them, though I had no idea the extent to which I needed to prepare myself. However, when I left my house at 7:30 this morning, and even when I walked to lunch with my coworkers at 11:30, I was lulled into a false sense of security. This morning was down right pleasant and at lunch, it was a little humid, but it was kinda nice. There was a breeze and everything.

I honestly started to think that everyone was just being overdramatic and needed to calm down. I mean, it’s summer, it gets a little warm, we’ll wish we had this when it is twenty below in January, right? I spent six and a half hours in the office this afternoon and frankly, the warning signs were there, though heed them I did not. The office was hot instead of it’s normal frigid afternoon climate. Clients were visiting the office and they all arrived in our lobby sweaty and out of breath, bemoaning the heat. I still just figured people were overreacting, being the naive Californian that I am.

The universe has a way of making sure us arrogant naive folks get knocked down a few pegs when need be. When I walked out of my office at 7:45 pm tonight,the universe knocked me down on my butt (almost physically too). For the first thirty seconds, I think I forgot how to breath. My shirt was immediately sweated through. My feet slid to the front of my high heels, making it impossible to walk (thank goodness I had my Rainbows in my purse. I now feel the $50 flip-flops have paid for themselves). My ten minute walk to the bus stop was agony, followed by an agonizing ten minute wait for the bus (not only was it hot, some people were “sorting out their differences” a few feet behind me, so I was trying to make sure I didn’t somehow anger them both with my presence, causing them to band together against me). I don’t think I have ever been so happy to get on public transportation before- the bus was beautifully air conditioned. Needless to say, I’m going to trust everyone who tells me it is going to be hot and to make sure I take my sweater off before I go outside.

Besides being swiftly introduced to the joys of humidity today, this first week in Minnesota has been phenomenal.My workload is filling in nicely, I’m learning my way to the necessary places in downtown Minneapolis (work, Target, Macy’s, Caribou Coffee. Like I said, the necessities), I’m making friends with the people I work with and I haven’t had bus issues in a good four days. You know that White Stripes song, “I Can Tell That We Are Going To Be Friends?” That has been playing over and over in my head the past few days. Minneapolis/St. Paul, we’re going to be friends. Coworkers at Broadhead, we’re going to be friends. The MidWest, I can definentley tell we are going to be friends.

One thought on “Humidity and The White Stripes

Leave a Reply

