Day 1: Check!

Biggest personal triumph of the day: Not getting lost on the bus or in downtown Minneapolis. Yep, I’m pretty proud of myself. Believe me, on the way home, I had to figure out which corner bus stop was mine. Only a minor jog was involved so, go me!

I woke up this morning and it was absolutely gorgeous outside. After giving myself a pep talk to prepare myself for my first day, I set out to catch my morning bus. I got to go on this beautiful walk:

Isn’t it pretty?

I arrived at the bus stop a few minutes early and spent a few moments in turmoil, wondering if I was actually in the right spot. Of course, I was just worrying about nothing- the bus arrived right on time!

Are you my bus stop?

I then found my way from the bus stop to my office. When I walked into the office, I was ready to introduce myself to whoever I saw first and hope they could point me in the right direction. Luckily, I stepped off the elevator and was immediately greeted with a “Welcome, Carrie!” by the smiling receptionist, and about 3 other people within the first five minutes. It was great to feel so welcomed.

My absolute favorite part of the day was the tour of the office. Broadhead isn’t your typical office. The building is a former parking garage, so there is lots of exposed brick, concrete that has been painted with glitter and even a parking ramp at the rear of the office. When we reached the kitchen area, I was informed that there were four carafes of coffee (absolutely no decaf) made each morning. All I would have to do to enjoy it was bring whatever creamer I preferred. At this point, I knew I was going to like it there.

I was convinced even further of that fact when we turned the corner and I saw the soda (or pop, as it is called here) machine, where I could purchase Diet Coke for 75 cents. This is a very bad thing. By very bad, I mean absolutely delightful. I have been informed that every Wednesday there are bagels in the office and the last few Friday’s there have been donuts. So there goes any hope I had of losing weight this summer. I’m going to have to add morning runs to my afternoon Insanity.

Another awesome thing about Broadhead: all their conference, meeting and collaboration rooms are named after 80s Rock Bands. You can’t make this up folks. The biggest and best conference room is naturally called Bon Jovi. I believe Journey, AC/DC and Heart also appear, among many others. Yep, next week I have meetings in Bon Jovi and AC/DC. This is great. There is also a life-size cardboard cutout of Broadhead’s Washington, D.C. based employee. I can’t be sure, but he may have been wearing a pirate hat. I also saw a giant hot dog with a smile. I still need the backstory on that one.

For lunch, three of my coworkers took me to a place called Ike’s, which just so happens to be my Grandpa’s name. The connections in this town to my Grandpa’s family are mind blowing. The maiden name of the HR lady at Broadhead is Isaacson, and her family is from the Sweeden/Finland border, just like my Grandpa’s family (we’re probably related by marriage somewhere along the line). There is a café called the Finnish Bistro about 15 minutes from my house.  One of the ladies I work with is from Rapid City, where my Grandpa grew up. My Grandpa was sworn in to the army at Fort Snelling here in Minneapolis. Clearly, I’m supposed to be here.

All in all, I think it was a pretty successful day. I even made it to the grocery story to get actual food (I almost started weeping at the produce section though). I got my Insanity Plyometric Cardio Circuit in. I unpacked my boxes and finished setting up my room. Made myself some Cheerios for dinner. Yep, today was a fantastic day!

My room from the door. Just look at that green carpet!

My room from the other direction.

You mean you don’t keep your tomatoes, books and iron on the same shelf?

Leave a Reply

