I’m Here!

The fact that today is the longest day of the year doesn’t seem like a coincidence to me. After a long day of traveling, I am officially in Minneapolis. All my luggage arrived with me (still waiting on those boxes though), a new coworker from Broadhead picked me up at the airport and brought me to my house and I spent several hours unpacking my three suitcases as best I could. Soon, I’m going to dinner with my friend Lana and plan on spending the night finalizing bus times and routes, laying out my clothes for my first day and sleeping on a sheet-less mattress.

I’m happy to report that my vision of the house being on a street with lots of trees came true. Trees, ferns and shrubs are everywhere and this whole area just feels lush (that could be the approximately 99% humidity though).

Now that I am here, I still can’t really pinpoint exactly how I’m feeling. I’ve been feeling pretty lonely, relieved to be here, nervous about my first day of work tomorrow and curious about this new area I’m living in. Even though I am scared out of my mind about my first day tomorrow (I know this is normal, so I’m not reading into it too much) and my bus ride to said first day of work, I’m anxious to get there. I want to meet everyone, see the city, figure out what my summer holds. I swear though, if one more emotion manifests itself, I don’t know what I’ll do. Being so overly emotional isn’t something I’m used to so that just adds to the weirdness of the whole situation as well as the perpetual circle of emotion I currently seem to be riding.

Well, there appears to be a thunderstorm occurring outside. For those of you who know me, you know that terror was just added to my list of emotions currently being experienced. But hey, I didn’t go crazy! This is good, very good. I suppose I’ll probably get over my fear of thunder and lightening this summer as well, since it has been implied that they are a nightly occurrence. Boy, this is going to be an adventure.

Leave a Reply

