Vegan Week, Day 2

I have made it through another successful day as a vegan! David and I did our own thing for most of the day, as we both had to be somewhat productive on our day off from school. I was able to go to coffee this morning with my roommates, where I tried my first ever vanilla soy latte. It was actually pretty delicious, so we know I won’t be wasting away from a caffeine deficiency this week. I was pretty apprehensive of the soy juice (it’s not milk) portion of the drink, but it all ended okay.

 

After coffee, I decided it was time to attempt a workout. I was a little concerned about this, since I hadn’t had my normal protein staples in my diet, but I headed to the gym anyways. Thankfully for myself and the other people at the gym the workout went great. I made it through an hour of cardio and some strength training without any adverse effects!

 

For lunch, I had a vegetable medley and some Wheat Thins, which I learned today are vegan! It was tasty, but lacking in protein, so I had a couple of almonds. I did witness one of my lovely roommates gnawing on a leftover rib in the kitchen. She didn’t flaunt it, but I smelt it’s sweet, bar-b-quey goodness. I didn’t feel challenged at all today until I smelled that wonderful leftover McClintock’s. I remained strong though and stuck to the vegetables!

 

For dinner, David and I did a bit of improvising. We opened up his fridge and just pulled out what looked good. The night’s menu ended up consisting of potato patties, salsa, black beans and my go to vegetable dish of zucchini, yellow squash, fresh garlic and onion, all sprinkled with a little cajun seasoning (I’ve had a variation of the zucchini sauté three times already. It’s time to brach out I think). We were quite pleased with ourselves- it was vegan, it was delicious, and we came up with it all on our own! For pictures of the meal, check out David’s blog (www.agrilifestyle.blogspot.com).

 

Today’s Food Log

Breakfast

Vanilla Soy Latte

almonds

 

Lunch

zucchini, yellow squash, broccoli, tomato, onion and garlic

Wheat Thins

 

Dinner

Potato patties with salt, pepper, basil and Cajun seasoning

zucchini, yellow squash, tomato, garlic and onion with Cajun seasoning

black beans

salsa

 

Dessert

Fresh pineapple

 

All in all, it was a solid day. Tomorrow, both David and I will have our first day at school since the vegan week started. We expect to have a few new challenges, seeing as our magazine office is currently stocked with Costco cookies, rum cake and pretzel m&ms, all of which just happen to be similar to kryptonite to David and I. Thankfully, we have the success of the last two days to keep us motivated and enthusiastic!

Thank you to all our supporters for following our progress and sharing encouragement and ideas. Without you guys, David and I would be having a much harder time!

 

2 thoughts on “Vegan Week, Day 2

  1. I have not tried this recipe but it looks good and plan on trying it soon, personally. 1 pre-made vegan pie crust (Keebler Ready Crust Pie Crusts (Graham Cracker) is suggested in the accidentally vegan list I tweeted you) 1 cup peanut butter The filling: 2 boxes of SILKEN tofu, 12 ounces choc. chips (Gharridelli??? Gosh I have the hardest time spelling that!!! but, their SEMI-SWEET chips.) 3 tbs maple syrup and 1 tb vanilla extract. If you have a food processor, blend the tofu in that… mine broke,so I would just use a hand mixer,personally. But, you blend it until its smooth. I didn’t notice that it wanted you to melt the chips in a double boiler,but if you have a metal mixing bowl,you can put in the chips in that and set it on top of a pan of water and boil it until the chips melt. Add the melted chips to the tofu and stir to combine. Add the maple syrup and vanilla and blend. Spread the peanut butter in the shell. Top with the filling. I hope you like it. The maple syrup seems a touch odd to me, but I’ve seen stranger and it worked out and tasted just fine. Heres hoping it doesn’t taste like crap! Lol 🙂

  2. CRAP! I forgot to note: IF you make those cookies (which,I hope you do, THEY’RE AWESOME!)… they’re going to come out CRAZY soft. Make sure to use parchment paper and remove the paper,not the cookies from the sheet. The cookies need to set so they’re firm enough to pick up,they come out more like a magma at first and trying to use a spatula to remove them from the paper will destroy them. But, trust me, they’re amazing. My omni friends love them. They’re great.

Leave a Reply

