Chocolate Cake and Useful Degrees

Well, Day 5 is just about done. This was by far the easiest day for me, but that may be because I knew I would be baking a dessert tonight. My friend Katie brought cupcakes by the Brock Center today and I barely even noticed. I hope the last two days are as great as today!

While I was having the easiest day yet, David was experiencing his first challenging day. He was nowhere near as bad as I was the first few days, but I saw him making a few longing looks at the Chick-fil-A section of the cafeteria. He had a few light complaints, but overall, we’re both doing well!

I am just about to put the finishing touches on a vegan chocolate ganache cake. I snuck a little bit of the unfrosted cake and if I hadn’t known it was vegan, I wouldn’t have been able to tell. I’m very excited to have a slice and David is making a point to come by and get a piece after a late night group project meeting. That is how desperate we are for something sugary.

Yesterday I said I was going to eat more fruit today. I tried, but it’s January and I was limited to what campus dining could provide. I did get a fresh fruit cup with my lunch today, but someone in my house ate all the bananas and nothing at the store this afternoon looked good. I promise to eat more fruit as more of it comes into season.

I’m sure most of you heard about the Yahoo article today which named agriculture, animal science and horticulture degrees as some of the most useless college degrees. I know this is not true, but I feel as if the article just reaffirms what David and I are trying to do this week- begin to understand a new perspective and became more effective communicators for the agriculture industry. Clearly, agriculture needs people to speak up and remind the nation how irreplaceable an industry agriculture is.

Daily Food Log

Breakfast

Steel cut oats with sugar and raisins

Snack

Soy latte

Lunch

Vegan Chilli

Ritz Crackers

Fruit Cup

Dinner

Salad with kidney beans, chickpeas, sunflower seeds, corn, carrots and balsamic vinegar

Potato patty

Dessert

Vegan chocolate cake with vegan chocolate ganache

Leave a Reply

